UiBot : Robots for Everyone!

Your Location: Training Center> Documents > 5.Flow chart of UiBot
5.Flow chart of UiBot

When you Build or Open the workflow of UiBot, you can see that each workflow is represented by a flow chart. In the flow chart, there are four elements: start, end, process block, and judgment and each is connected by arrows.

Each flow chart must have only one "start" element. As the name implies, the process begins here and moves along the path that the direction of the arrow indicates. It runs sequentially from element to element. In each flow chart, there will be at least one "end" element, and once the system encounters the "end" element, it will stop running.

There also must be at least one "judgment" element in the flow chart. In the process of operation, the "judgment" element will branch the following operation path according to certain conditions. When the condition is true, the process will run the following element along the “yes” arrow. Otherwise, it will run the following element along the “no” arrow. If you are new to UiBot, you may not need the "judgment" element for the time being. This course will explain why later but for now, let's just skip over this fact.

Finally, and most importantly, there must be at least one "process block" in the flow chart, which is the second concept introduced in this chapter.

We can divide a process into several steps, each of which is described by a "process block" in UiBot. For example, if our task is to "put the elephant in the refrigerator", then we can divide the task into three steps, each of which is a process block:

Open the refrigerator door;

Put the elephant in;

Close the refrigerator door.

Of course, this example isn’t realistic, but through this example, it can be seen that in UiBot, a step, or a process block, is only a general description of one step within the overall automation process.

UiBot does not specify how detailed a process block is. For example, a process can have only one process block (in this case, the process and the process block can actually be regarded as the same concept), or a process can be divided into many process blocks. It depends on your personal preferences. Generally speaking, we recommend putting relatively independent process logic into a process block, but the total number of process blocks should not be too many. For example, a process should not exceed 20 process blocks.

Why do the number of process blocks matter? Because the original intention of UiBot's "flow chart" is to enable the business experts who design RPA processes to communicate better with the general staff who use RPA. At the beginning of the design, the two groups determine the general steps. They then divide the process blocks accordingly, and lastly, the business experts fill in the details of each process block, while the general staff do not need to pay attention to these details. Obviously, at this stage, if the number of process blocks is too large, communication will naturally become more difficult.

On the toolbar of UiBot, there is a "Run" button. In the flow chart interface, after pressing this button, it will begin with the "Start" element and run the elements of the process in turn. There is also a small blue triangle on each process block, which can be clicked. When pressed, only the current process block will run. This function facilitates us to test each process block separately when developing RPA processes

Each process block also has a button shaped like as a paper and pen. After pressing it, you can view and edit the specific contents of the process block. The specific writing method can be completed through the "Visual View" function

Suggested reading
Are You Ready to Explore the RPA World?